What I Have Been Reading Lately

Here are the books I recently read:

All Grown Up by Jami Allenberg – I was excited to read this book about a woman who makes unconventional choices in her life according to the popular culture. I was intrigued by the therapy aspect. I always like books that break down scenes between patient and therapist. It was a bit disappointing and I wouldn’t say that I loved the main character.

Image result for all grown up jami

The Little Book of Hygge: Danish Secrets to Happy Living  by Meik Wiking – Hygge is my latest obsession. I enjoyed this little book, but am finding that there really isn’t anything new for me to read about this concept. It was enjoyable and I was able to check it out on Overdrive.

Image result for the little book of hygge

 

Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson – I adored this book! Part social science, part story, it was the perfect blend of story and character. I wanted to know what happened as the  pages turned and didn’t want it to end. I even started to slow down reading it. This was a Book of the Month Pick. This is one of my favorite reads of the last year.

 

Image result for perfect little world

 

The Rabbit Back Literature Society  by: Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen – A book that deals with writers groups and mysterious circumstances surrounding it is in my wheelhouse. This was a fun book. There were parts that were a bit sexual for me that didn’t seem to be necessary to the story that I didn’t care for,  but overall was a good read.

 

Image result for rabbit back literature society

 

When Women Were Birds: Fifty-four Variations on Voice  by Terry Tempest Williams – This book was recommended by Rebecca from Book Riot in her interview on the Just the Right Book Podcast. It is full of dynamic writing. I checked it out from the library and had to purchase my own copy due to the amount of underlining that I need to do in this book. I will come back to this book over and over again.

 

Image result for when women were birds

 

What I listened to that you should too!

Bonus! LitUP the podcast – Julia Pierpont’s episode where she talks about her book Among the Ten Thousand Things. I read the book this past year after it was recommended by the What Should I Read Next podcast. It was amazing. I am fascinated by authors who write these debut novels that they write in their MFA programs.

 

What are you reading??

 

#happyreading everyone!

Leave a Reply

