Favorite Poem – Secrets

I have used this poem by Naomi Shihab Nye as a Quickwrite more times than I can count.

 

Secrets

One suitcase

only for secrets–

tucked in the pouch pocket,

pressed in the corners,

one light and liquid suitcase,

one glittering suitcase

filled with tiny

unspoken tales.

 

And I will carry it

to the other side of the ocean.

I will carry it

so no one knows

what I hold.

Because its cargo

is more precious than socks

or pajamas.

Because a secret is a ticket

and without it

the trip would be

too lonely.

 

The line that always pops for me is “because a secret is a ticket” – I always think of nice secrets with this poem – ones that are surprise parties, trips, or presents. The secrets that lead you to pleasant feelings. The things that are endearing, not secrets that are hurtful.

It is a short poem and approachable for people who don’t know they love poetry yet – adults and children included.

I may quickwrite with this poem again today just for fun! I love to give myself writing assignments.

3 thoughts on “Favorite Poem – Secrets

  1. This is a fabulous poem! I am ashamed to admit I’ve never read it before now. Thank you for sharing it. The line about “socks” and “pajamas” must make it feel so accessible to children.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

