Poetry Month – Favorite Poet Celebration!

It is officially poetry month!

Favorite Poets:

  1. Naomi Shihab Nye – I was introduced to the wonderous works of this woman at the Writers at Work conference many years ago by Laura Robb the respected educator. The first poem shared with me was “SECRETS” that I have taught multiple times and often carry it around with me.
  2. Billy Collins – A very readable poet and a great one to teach as well. I often remember the story that Penny Kittle shared that she sits in a back porch and reads Billy Collins poetry out loud with friends. A wonderful thought to copy!
  3. Mary Oliver – Wow. I am not sure there are words to describe how much I love this poet. She speaks to my heart in so many ways.
  4. Kelli Agodon – I do not remember how this poet came on my radar but I find her personally inspiring  for my own poetry. Her books are amazing and my favorite is  Hourglass Museum.  She also wrote a daily inspiration guide for writing poetry.
  5. Rumi – I have come back to this ancient poet time and time again sometimes just opening a volume and reading a random line that suddenly doesn’t seem random anymore.
  6. Maya Angelou – She is amazing. No other words needed.

#happy reading

Leave a Reply

