Friday Fun – Two Lists SOL#10

10 Ways to Make Traveling Easier Next Time I Fly

  1. Make sure that outfits are interchangeable
  2. Bring small detergent in case I need to wash clothing
  3. Bring the kindle instead of real books
  4. Bring the minimal beauty items
  5. Bring items that can be thrown away – last use of something
  6. Pack an empty bag that collapses easily
  7. Make sure my book is in the carry on
  8. Drink water before hand
  9. Make sure to have a notebook
  10. Enjoy it

Fav 11 Books and One Learning From Each

  1. The Alchemist by: Paulo Coelho
    1. If you are to truly do something,  the universe conspires to help you.
  2. Alice in Wonderland by: Lewis Carroll
    1. – Fantasy is a good thing – if you don’t know what path you are on it doesn’t matter where you are going
  3. 52 Cups of Coffee. by: Megan Gebhart
    1. The power of connection and bits of advice can be extraordinary – and fun to read.
  4. The Graveyard Book .by: Neil Gaiman
    1. Life is short and sometimes there are second chances. I was introduced to Neil Gaiman and I love everything he writes. My son recommended this book which makes it even better
  5. Saturdays and Teacakes by: Lester Laminack
    1. Memoir is powerful even in a children’s book – grandmas are important no matter how old you are
  6. The Storied Life of AJ Finkey  by: Gabrielle Zevin
    1. Reading something is fun when you get the inside joke – so many references to other books that I knew and loved – makes you feel like part of the inner circle
  7. Life after Life by: Kate Atkinson
    1. Even if you had the same life to live over it might not turn out like you think
  8. To Be a Runner – by: Martin Dugard
    1. One of the few books I have reread. This book captures the feeling of what it is to be a dedicated runner perfectly.
  9. What Alice Forgot  by: Liane Moriarty
    1. The important part about this book is the realization of the tiny steps and how much your life can change right under your nose to the point you don’t recognize it anymore
  10. Nikki Giovanni Hybrid book: Chasing Utopia
    1. Inspiration for my own book – recipes stories and poems all together – inspired other media to read too – New York Times etc.
  11. The Book Whisperer  by: Donalyn Miller
    1. This book changed my teaching as I read it – student choice – I felt it gave me permission to do things that I knew were always right.
3 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Two Lists SOL#10

  1. Love your fun lists! I am also working on Top 10 lists for day 10! I have read a few of the books on your list and absolutely loved some of them. I love how diverse the choices are, and thank you for the recommendations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, as well, really like your lists–what a neat idea! It brought a friend of mine to my mind; he saved, ahem, underclothes as they wore out to leave them behind when he traveled.

    Like

  3. Your travel list is spot on!! As a fellow traveler, I agree with each one! 🙂 And What Alice Forgot is sooo good! Have you read any of her other books? I am getting into her stuff and really like it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

