Friendship and Books SOL#9

I just finished reading A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (all 720 pages of it). It is not the longest book I have ever read but it was close. The overall theme is friendship centered around 4 friends and the perceptions the 4 have of each other and themselves. I have heard many people talk about this book and how impactful it is on their own thinking, which is partially why I read it in the first place.

I have had many friends throughout my life, and mostly they have been situational friends. This fact does not discount their importance, just a matter of categorization. I am an odd bird, an INTJ, and usually make friends with males better than females. I do not appreciate nor tolerate drama or back stabbing.

In recent years this has changed. Through running I met some wonderful women that were drama free (mostly). Through the hard times in my life friends have appeared just when I need them most – just like books do! I try not to ignore the signs if the Universe is trying to tell me something through books or people.

Yesterday was not a great day. There were some things that happened that were out of my control, and I was trying to logically deal with them. The two shining moments involved friends. During the day my two great friends at work hugged me when I needed it. (I am normally not too much of a hugger 🙂 ) A little note was placed on my desk, and they listened when I was close to tears (also unusual). I have no words for how important these two women are to me even when I am the Wordsmith in most situations. They perceive and accept me for who I really am and I do not have to put on a mask with them which is refreshing and makes me grateful.

The second incident is with my husband who is my true best friend. He also accepts me for who I am and my special kind of crazy! I love him with all my heart.

The book did make me think and make connections to my own life which is always a characteristic I enjoy in books. It is one of the many joys of reading. I am always reflecting with teaching, coaching and my life and am glad books and writing are such a large part of that process.

 

4 thoughts on “Friendship and Books SOL#9

  1. I felt as if I was reading about myself. Remember people come in and out of our lives for certain reasons. I treasure those moments and take away what i learned. You are fortunate to have those gifts as well.

    Like

  2. It is great to have friends to count on. I am grateful for my colleagues at work who are picking up the slack for me as I make my way through a health issue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

