Little Joys – Slice of Life

I am participating in the Two Writing Teachers Slice of Life Challenge this year.

Write. Share. Give.

Little Joys

While thumbing through an old journal looking for inspiration, I came across a few notes of anecdotes about my son who will be 14 on Saturday. As I read my notes that consisted of three sentences,  the memories came flooding back and made me smile.

I listen to several podcasts without fail every week and ones of these is Tsh Oxenreider’s Art of Simple. One of her guests talked about setting up an email account for her young daughter. She sends funny or heartfelt emails and memories to her daughter in email form with the idea that the account will become accessed by her many years from now and she will be able to read all the messages. I wish I would have thought of this idea years ago! I may start now anyway with the gmail account he currently has activated.

Anecdote 1: My 4 year old son looked at his dad and insisted he needed a GO TREE. He kept saying it and finally made the gesture of touching his face and chin and saying FUZZ/GO TREE. He was trying to tell his Dad to grow a goatee!

Anecdote 2: The boy often said that he wanted to be a giant when he grew up – usually while in his car seat on an errand. One day I asked him why and he said that way he could pick up his Nana’s house and put it right next to ours. He was fascinated by the idea that he could run out the front door and go to his Nana’s anytime he saw fit.

Anecdote 3: While sitting on the chairs in the dining room the boy started to say “Ouch, ouch” when I inquired about what the issue was he said that “bees were biting my leg!” – his leg had fallen asleep!

It is amazing to me how a few sentences can conjure up so many fun memories with little effort. I have to remember that no matter how short the time, it is always a good idea to capture thoughts in my journal.

 

One thought on “Little Joys – Slice of Life

Leave a Reply

